Please note I have a new phone number...

512-517-2708

Alan Maki

Alan Maki
Doing research at the LBJ Library in Austin, Texas

It's time to claim our Peace Dividend

It's time to claim our Peace Dividend

We need to beat swords into plowshares.

We need to beat swords into plowshares.

A program for real change...

http://peaceandsocialjustice.blogspot.com/2013/03/a-progressive-program-for-real-change.html


What we need is a "21st Century Full Employment Act for Peace and Prosperity" which would make it a mandatory requirement that the president and Congress attain and maintain full employment.


"Voting is easy and marginally useful, but it is a poor substitute for democracy, which requires direct action by concerned citizens"

- Ben Franklin

Let's talk...

Let's talk...

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Justice for Melina Harris.

To whom it may concern;

Many people, including myself, have become aware of the grave miscarriage of justice in the case of Melina Harris. 


The facts in this case speak for themselves.

Anyone with an ounce of common sense can see and understand that Melina Harris is the victim here of a brutal police assault; not the other way around.

It is the police who should be on trial for their felony assault on Melina Harris.

The judge should do what is right and set aside this verdict; all charges against Melina Harris should be dismissed.

No one would want their girlfriend, wife, sister, mother, aunt, grandma, fellow worker or friend treated in this brutal manner by the police with the injustice compounded by the prosecutor and the courts.

At some point someone in a position of authority will have to right this wrong, and the sooner the better for all concerned. Justice requires no less.

It is inexcusable that the United States Department of Justice has not begun an investigation into what is obviously a gross violation of Melina Harris' civil and constitutionally protected rights.

Just look at the pictures posted in my blog... does anyone think this kind of force and brutality on the part of the police was required?

To continue this prosecution and sentencing of Melina Harris makes a mockery of justice.

Obviously Melina Harris has been the victim of a frame-up here in order to protect the police from criminal prosecution. We all know how this works; the police beat someone up and then they turn around and accuse their victim in order to escape their own criminal prosecution.





Stop the sentencing; drop the charges.

Alan L. Maki
Director of Organizing,
Midwest Casino Workers Organizing Council
58891 County Road 13
Warroad, Minnesota 56763

Phone: 218-386-2432
Cell: 651-587-5541

Primary E-mail: amaki000@centurytel.net

Blog: http://thepodunkblog.blogspot.com/



Copies of this letter were sent to the following:



Melina Harris, shyeshye@gmail.com 

Mayor Suzette Cooke, mayor@kentwa.gov

Kent City Council, councilmembers@kentwa.gov

Chris Daniels, cdaniels@king5.com

Christine Clarridge, cclarridge@seattletimes.com

Kent Police Chief Ken Thomas at, KThomas@kentwa.gov

Kent Internal Investigations, Patrick Lowery, plowery@kentwa.gov

Public Defender Kristen Gestaut , Kristen.Gestaut@acapd.org 

Washington State Clemency and Pardons Board, CPBoard@atg.wa.gov 

WW DOJ Civil Rights, Special.Litigation@usdoj.gov

Governor Christine Gregoire Fax: (360) 753-4110


Media:

KenSchram@komo4news.com,

editor@thestranger.com,

chalsne@kirotv.com, tips@q13fox.com